Federal Advisory Committee on the Charitable Sector Co-Chairs Announced

The Minister of National Revenue has announced the nomination of Hilary Pearson and Bruce MacDonald as co-chairs of the newly created permanent Advisory Committee on the Charitable Sector (ACCS) along with the Canada Revenue Agency Co-Chair, Geoff Trueman, Assistant Commissioner of the Legislative Policy and Regulatory Affairs Branch.

The ACCS was announced in the November 2018 Federal Economic Update as a consultative forum for the Government of Canada to engage in meaningful dialogue with the charitable sector, to advance emerging issues relating to charities, and to ensure the regulatory environment supports the important work that charities do. 

The ACCS is made up of 12 senior-level representatives (TBD but will include registered charities, national umbrella organizations, professional associations, charity researchers/academics, and legal experts) who are appointed by and report to the Minister of National Revenue and the Commissioner of the CRA.

This announcement marks the government’s fourth and final response to the recommendations by the Consultation Panel on the Political Activities of Charities. CCVO has reported previously on the government’s response to the other recommendations, including legislative changes to the rules governing the political activities of charities in December 2018.  

Whether you work, volunteer, or donate to a charity, the ACCS encourages you to contact the ACCS secretariat directly if you have input to share.