Alberta Premier Jason Kenney and Cabinet Sworn In


By Alexa Briggs, CCVO Director, Policy & Research

A new cabinet was appointed yesterday as Jason Kenney was sworn in as Alberta’s 18th Premier. Please join CCVO in offering congratulations to the new Ministers, and in continuing the nonprofit sector’s commitment to working with the Government of Alberta in fulfilling the sector's vital role as major contributors to the economic, social, and cultural fabric of the province.

The Ministries that were announced yesterday remain fairly consistent from the previous government, with none being eliminated entirely – although some portfolios have been restructured. Three new Ministries have been added: Red Tape Reduction, Natural Gas, and – notably for the sector – a Ministry of Mental Health and Addictions.

Combined portfolios now include: Immigration (new addition) has been added to the Labour Ministry. The Culture and Tourism Ministry has been split into two, with Tourism added to Economic Development and Trade, and Culture added to the Status of Women, along with Multiculturalism (new addition).

There are 23 Ministries in total: 7 women have been appointed, 7 returning MLAs, 13 Ministers are from Calgary, and 1 Minister is from Edmonton.  

Please find more information, including bios and priorities for each Minister here. For convenience, the list below includes a snapshot of all Ministers:  

Minister of Intergovernmental Relations: Jason Kenney (Premier and MLA for Calgary-Lougheed)

Minister of Justice and Solicitor General: Doug Schweitzer (MLA for Calgary Elbow)

Minister of Health: Tyler Shandro (MLA for Calgary Acadia)

Minister of Transportation: Ric McIver (MLA for Calgary-Hays)

Minister of Education: Adriana LaGrange (MLA for Red Deer North)

Minister of Economic Development and Tourism: Tanya Fir (MLA for Calgary-Peigan)

Minister of Treasury Board and Finance: Travis Toews (MLA for Grande Prairie-Wapiti)

Minister of Environment and Parks: Jason Nixon (MLA for Rimbey-Rocky Mountain House-Sundre)

Minister of Agriculture and Forestry: Devin Dreeshen (MLA for Innisfail-Sylvan Lake)

Minister of Energy: Sonya Savage (MLA for Calgary-North West)

Minister of Community and Social Services: Rajan Sawhney (MLA for Calgary-North East)

Minister of Seniors and Housing: Josephine Pon (MLA for Calgary-Beddington)

Minister of Children’s Services: Rebecca Shulz (MLA for Calgary-Shaw)

Minister of Indigenous Relations: Rick Wilson (MLA for Maskwacis-Wetaskiwin)

Minister of Advanced Education: Dimitri Nicolaides (MLA for Calgary-Bow)

Minister of Culture, Multiculturalism, and Status of Women: Leela Aheer (MLA for Chestermere-Rockyview)

Minister of Labour and Immigration: Jason Copping (MLA for Calgary-Varsity)

Minister of Municipal Affairs: Kaycee Madu (MLA for Edmonton-South West)

Minister of Infrastructure: Prasad Panda (MLA for Calgary-Edgemont)

Minister of Service Alberta: Nate Glubish (MLA for Stathcona-Sherwood Park)

Associate Minister of Red Tape Reduction: Grant Hunter (MLA for Taber-Warner)

Associate Minister of Natural Gas: Dave Nally (MLA for Morinville-St. Albert)

Associate Minister of Mental Health and Addictions: Jason Luan (MLA for Calgary-Foothills)

In addition to these important appointments, the government also announced Deputy Ministers. Find a full list and bios of Deputy Ministers here. Deputy Ministers are crucial contacts in Ministries, as they are responsible for day-to-day operations and can be very valuable allies. There is continuity in some particularly relevant Ministries: Advanced Education, Agriculture and Forestry, Children’s Services, Community and Social Services, Economic Development, Trade and Tourism, Education, Environment and Parks, and Indigenous Relations.

New Deputy Ministers have been announced for: Culture, Multiculturalism and Status of Women, Health, Labour and Immigration, and Seniors and Housing.  

While we now know the Ministries and the leadership that will be stewarding them forward, we do not currently have details about the mandates. As soon as these details emerge, CCVO will provide updates. In the meantime, be sure to offer congratulations to the new Ministers, particularly those you will likely work with regularly, and establish new relationships or strengthen existing ones with Deputy Ministers.

Our sincere congratulations to all the new appointees and our best wishes for a constructive and mutually beneficial working relationship.